Location not specified
DOCROUTE UNIVERSITY PROFILE
Freie Universität Berlin
Explore available study information and build a verified route from university application to student residence.
Computer science: Informatik (Mono-Bachelor)
Top 100 facts checked 31 Oct 2026
EUROPE'S TOP 100
Rank 66 of 100 in Europe
852 papers among the 10% most cited (CWTS Leiden Ranking Open Edition 2025, 2020–2023). Bachelor's admission facts for a non-EU applicant, each from an official page. Reference only: not a verified route.
Source describes: Winter semester 2026/27 (deadlines)
- Computer science bachelor
- Informatik (Mono-Bachelor) · The checked page does not state the teaching language; see the country rule below.
- How to apply
- uni-assist preliminary review (VPD), then FU's application portal
- Deadline
- Winter semester 2026/27: 1 June–15 July 2026 for restricted programmes, 1 June–1 September 2026 for open ones; apply for the uni-assist VPD as early as possible
- School certificateCountry rule
- Your school certificate must count as a German higher-education entrance qualification (HZB). If it does not, the usual route is a Studienkolleg with an assessment test (Feststellungsprüfung) or one to two years of university study at home. The university makes the final decision.
- LanguageCountry rule
- Most bachelor programmes are taught in German and need German at B2 or higher (often DSH-2 or TestDaF 4 in all parts by enrolment); English-taught programmes need English proof instead.
- Tuition (non-EU)Country rule
- No tuition at most public universities, only a semester contribution (about €70–430).
Entry requirements by field
As published on each programme page (checked 31 Oct 2026; UK grades are typical offers). Grades are not converted between school systems; the university decides how it reads yours.
- Computer science
- Informatik (mono-bachelor) · Taught in German; restricted admission; winter start
- Mathematics
- Mathematik (mono-bachelor) · Taught in German; restricted (DoSV); winter or summer start
- Medicine
- Medicine in Berlin is taught at Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, shared by Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität; apply there.
- Law
- Rechtswissenschaft (First State Law Exam) · Taught in German; restricted (DoSV); winter start
- Economics
- Volkswirtschaftslehre (mono-bachelor) · Taught in English and German; English at B2 also required; restricted (DoSV, or uni-assist for international applicants); winter start
- FU Berlin: Application with a non-German entrance qualification · checked 27 Oct 2026
- FU Berlin: Application deadlines · checked 31 Oct 2026
- DAAD: Requirements overview · checked 27 Oct 2026
- DAAD: Costs of education and living · checked 27 Oct 2026
APPLICATION ROUTE
Admission requirements
What the university asks of international applicants
Read on the university's own pages for non-EU bachelor's applicants with a school certificate from abroad (checked 31 Oct 2026). With a school certificate from an EU/EEA country, a different procedure may apply. This is reference information, not a verified route: DocRoute does not check your profile against it. Confirm details on the programme page before you apply.
Application documents
- Step 1: preliminary review documentation (VPD) from uni-assist, available all year (fee; 4–8 weeks)
- For the VPD: all school and university certificates that form your entrance qualification, with official translations unless in English or German
- Step 2: account in FU's application portal (DoSV programmes also need hochschulstart IDs); step 3: upload everything, including the VPD, by the deadline
Entrance requirements
- A foreign entrance qualification reviewed by uni-assist; apply for the VPD even if you expect to need a Studienkolleg
- Admission restriction, language level and any test depend on the programme: see Entry requirements by field.
After admission
- At enrolment you submit further documents and pay the semester fees and contributions
- Student health insurance is required for enrolment