Location not specified
DOCROUTE UNIVERSITY PROFILE
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Explore available study information and build a verified route from university application to student residence.
Computer science: Informatik (B.Sc.)
Top 100 facts checked 31 Oct 2026
EUROPE'S TOP 100
Rank 73 of 100 in Europe
774 papers among the 10% most cited (CWTS Leiden Ranking Open Edition 2025, 2020–2023). Bachelor's admission facts for a non-EU applicant, each from an official page. Reference only: not a verified route.
Source describes: 2027/28
- Computer science bachelor
- Informatik (B.Sc.) · The checked page does not state the teaching language; see the country rule below.
- How to apply
- Freiburg's online application portal (not uni-assist)
- Deadline
- Winter semester 2027/28 (non-EU): 1 June–15 July 2027 for restricted programmes, 1 June–30 September 2027 with special prerequisites, 1 June–7 October 2027 for open programmes
- School certificateCountry rule
- Your school certificate must count as a German higher-education entrance qualification (HZB). If it does not, the usual route is a Studienkolleg with an assessment test (Feststellungsprüfung) or one to two years of university study at home. The university makes the final decision.
- LanguageCountry rule
- Most bachelor programmes are taught in German and need German at B2 or higher (often DSH-2 or TestDaF 4 in all parts by enrolment); English-taught programmes need English proof instead.
- Tuition (non-EU)
- Non-EU students pay €1,500 per semester
Entry requirements by field
As published on each programme page (checked 31 Oct 2026; UK grades are typical offers). Grades are not converted between school systems; the university decides how it reads yours.
- Computer science
- Informatik (B.Sc.) · Taught in German and English; German C1; no admission restriction; winter start (the page lists 1 June–8 October)
- Mathematics
- Mathematik (B.Sc.) · Taught in German; German C1; no admission restriction; winter start
- Medicine
- Humanmedizin (State Examination) · Taught in German; German C1; restricted (369 places); non-EU applicants without a German Abitur apply in Freiburg's own portal (not hochschulstart) for a 5% quota under the selection statute for foreign nationals
- Law
- Rechtswissenschaft (State Examination) · Taught in German; German C1; restricted (382 places); non-EU applicants without a German Abitur compete in an 8% quota
- Economics
- Volkswirtschaftslehre (B.Sc.) · Taught in German; German C1; no admission restriction; winter start
- Freiburg: How do I apply? · checked 27 Oct 2026
- Freiburg: Tuition fees for international students · checked 27 Oct 2026
- Freiburg: Dates and deadlines · checked 31 Oct 2026
- DAAD: Requirements overview · checked 27 Oct 2026
- DAAD: Costs of education and living · checked 27 Oct 2026
APPLICATION ROUTE
Admission requirements
What the university asks of international applicants
Read on the university's own pages for non-EU bachelor's applicants with a school certificate from abroad (checked 31 Oct 2026). With a school certificate from an EU/EEA country, a different procedure may apply. This is reference information, not a verified route: DocRoute does not check your profile against it. Confirm details on the programme page before you apply.
Application documents
- Apply in Freiburg's own online portal whatever your nationality; the portal shows which documents to upload
- Scan multi-part documents completely into one file
- Proof of a study orientation procedure, with the application or at the latest at enrolment
Entrance requirements
- Some programmes add an entrance examination or interview
- Admission restriction, language level and any test depend on the programme: see Entry requirements by field.
After admission
- Open programmes: you are admitted on submission and taken straight to the online enrolment form
- Restricted programmes: an offer and letter of admission appear in your portal inbox